top of page

Public Transit Board - FHATA

The Flint Hills Area Transportation Agency Board (Public Transit Board) was formed in 2019 through an interlocal agreement between local governments of the City of Manhattan, Riley County, Pottawatomie County and Kansas State University for the purpose of planning, managing and operating public transportation system as the Direct Recipient of Section 5307 Urban Formula Funds for the Manhattan Urbanized Area. The Board is established pursuant K.S.A. 12-901 and meets the definition found at K.S.A 75-117 of a municipality and therefore a governmental body for purposes of Federal Transit Law (defined generally as 49 U.S.C. 4301 et seg.

The Board of Directors of FHATA Board is comprised of local elected officials, representatives from Kansas State University and the Flint Hills Metropolitan Planning Organizations and one member at-large. The purpose of the Board is to facilitate its member’s commitment to engage in cooperative efforts in order to provide a cost effective, public transit system administered by Flint hills Area Transportation Agency, Inc.; and, 

To enable the parties forming the FHATA Board (the “Parties,” consisting of the City of Manhattan, Kansas, Riley and Pottawatomie Counties, Kansas, and Kansas State University) to apply for federal funds pursuant to an allocation letter from the Governor of Kansas and to be a Direct Recipient of Section 5307 Urban Formula Funds for the Manhattan Urbanized Area (MUA) which is eligible for federal funding assistance for transit services provided within the MUA or that start or end in the MUA; and

 To plan, manage, and operate public transit services that can serve the Flint Hills Region which covers all or parts of the jurisdictions of the Parties; and To seek federal assistance on behalf of the FHATA Board from the Federal Transit Administration for other federal assistance authorized by 49 U.S.C. Chapter 53, title 23, United States Code, or other federal statutes authorizing a project administered by the Federal Transit Administration.

To undertake all actions necessary or beneficial to achieving the above purposes.



Contact Information

5815 Marlatt Avenue
Manhattan, KS 66503
(785) 537-6345

Toll Free: (877) 551-6345


The Flint Hills Area Transportation Agency Board typically meets quarterly on the first Wednesday of the month at 4:00 p.m. The meeting schedule is as follows for 2023:

  • March 1, 2023 (THIS MEETING HAS BEEN MOVED TO APRIL 5, 2023)

  • June 7, 2023

  • September 6, 2023

  • December 6, 2023


These meetings will not be held in person until further notice. If you would like to attend the meeting you may do so by clicking on the Zoom link below or dialing in.

Join by computer:

Meeting ID: 531 676 785

Password: 017395

Dial by phone:

+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

+1 669 900 9128 US (San Jose)

+1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)

+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

+1 646 558 8656 US (New York)

FHATA Board Meeting Agendas:

FHATA Board Meeting Approved Minutes Archive:



For previous monthly minutes, please send a request to 


Wynn Butler                                                                       City of Manhattan Representative 

City of Manhattan Commissioner 

Derek Jackson                                                         Kansas State University Representative

Director of Housing and Dining Services, 

Associate Vice President for Student Life - KSU

Jared Tremblay                                                                                        MPO Representative 

Director of the Flint Hills Metropolitan Planning

Organization (MPO)

Jeff Barnes                                                               Kansas State University Representative

Director of Parking and Transportation Services - KSU

Greg McKinley                                                                            Riley County Representative

Riley County Commissioner

Dee Mckee                                                                 Pottawattamie County Representative

Pottawattamie County Commissioner

bottom of page